Friday, October 31, 2014

Blog Tour Post featuring Top 5 Halloween Reads + Giveaway by Jeyn Roberts

Halloween is definitely one of my favorite times of the year to celebrate, because it's the one time of the year where you can be anything that you want to be and nobody judges you for it. Plus, you get all the good candy to snack on for the rest of the year. (If it lasts that long, lol.) For me, I either like to hang out at my mom's handing out candy to the kiddo's or at my sister's doing the same because it's so much fun and because I love hanging out with the family and have fun times. Then I like to come home, make a hot cup of pumpkin spice coffee and curl up with a great book and nibble on the candy that I nicked from the bowl. Haha.

I wasn't sure what I wanted to do this year on the blog for Halloween and then it hit me, "favorite books to read during Halloween" and since this is a book blog I felt like it was highly appropriate for me to ask Jeyn Roberts author of The Bodies We Wear to share her Top 5 Favorite Halloween Reads with us and boy what a creepy list it is. lol. The Bodies We Wear is an alternatively dark and gritty look at life and death, intermingled with street gangs and drugs. From what I gather, it's a highly suspenseful and terrifyingly realistic portrayal of the gritty underbelly that goes on in America's society. I'm definitely looking forward to reading the copy of this that I have on my Kindle, it just recently released in September and from the ratings I've seen on Goodreads, it looks like it's pretty intense and gripping with a mixed bag of opinions. 

I'm lucky enough to be part of a blog tour running from October 1st to the 31st, which is the last stop on the list. So, I'll be sharing Jeyn's Top 5 Halloween Reads along with a giveaway for two beautiful finished copies of The Bodies We Wear to two different winners. The giveaway is only US/Canada only. So, definitely check that out below and fill out the Rafflecopter for a chance to win. You never know, you could be the one ending up with the treat. :)

Jeyn Roberts Top 5 Halloween Reads

Want to know more about The Bodies We Wear?

The Bodies We Wear
Jeyn Roberts
Published: September 23, 2014
Publisher: Knopf Books for Young Readers
Age Demographic: Young Adult
Pages: 368
Purchase: Amazon & B&N

A streetwise girl trains to take on a gang of drug dealers and avenge her best friend’s death in this thriller for fans of Scott Westerfeld and Robin Wasserman. 

People say when you take Heam, your body momentarily dies and you catch a glimpse of heaven. Faye was only eleven when dealers forced Heam on her and her best friend, Christian. But Faye didn’t glimpse heaven—she saw hell. And Christian died. 

Now Faye spends her days hiding her secret from the kids at school, and her nights training to take revenge on the men who destroyed her life and murdered her best friend. But life never goes the way we think it will. When a mysterious young man named Chael appears, Faye's plan suddenly gets a lot more complicated. Chael seems to know everything about her, including her past. But too many secrets start tearing her world apart: trouble at school, with the police, and with the people she thought might be her friends. Even Gazer, her guardian, fears she's become too obsessed with vengeance. Love and death. 

Will Faye overcome her desires, or will her quest for revenge consume her?

a Rafflecopter giveaway

About Jeyn Roberts

Jeyn Roberts (pronounced Jen - the Y is silent) grew up in Saskatoon, Saskatchewan, and started writing at an early age, having her first story published when she was 16 in a middle-grade anthology called LET ME TELL YOU

When she was 21, she moved to Vancouver with dreams of being a rock star, graduating from the University of British Columbia with a degree in Writing and Psychology. For the next few years she played in an alternative/punk band called Missing Mile before moving to England where she received her MA from the prestigious Creative Writing graduate course at Bath Spa University. Jeyn is a former singer, songwriter, actress, bicycle courier and tree planter. 

An avid traveler, she’s been around the world, most recently, teaching high school in South Korea. 

A lover of animals, Jeyn volunteers regularly with helping abandoned and abused animals, especially cats.
Credit for GIF goes to joshutchersonn@tumblr

So, I'm curious as to what you're going to be reading this Halloween? 

I'm going to try and finish up my ARC of The Mime Order by Samantha Shannon and start reading The Cure for Dreaming by Cat Winters (I'm really excited about this one, because it actually takes place on Halloween in the 19oo's and looks like it's going to be so good.) I think if I remember correctly it's about ghosts and mediums, that sort of thing and it's definitely historical so big yay there! 


  1. Replies
    1. Stephen King is totally Halloween worthy. :)

  2. Its my mom's birthday so I always go to dinner and watch a couple of movies with her. This Halloween weekend I have been craving a thriller so I picked up Gone Girl. :)

    1. Ooh, that's awesome that you spend time with your mom. *g* Oh man, Gone Girl is seriously amazing! You're going to love it. :)


Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...
GoodReads Amazon Barnes and Noble LibraryThing Shelfari